Wikia

Wiki Warcraft

Durotan

Commentaires7
3 751pages sur
ce wiki
Roman
Cet article ou section évoque du contenu exclusif aux romans sur Warcraft.
Horde 32
Durotan
Durotan TCG
Race
Classe Guerrier
Affiliation
Occupation Chef du Clan Loup-de-givre
Localisation
Enterré dans la Vallée d'Alterac
Statut Décédé
Parenté Garad et Geyah (parents)
Draka (compagne/femme[1])
Thrall (fils)
Ga'nar et Fenris Frère-Loup ( Frères )
Durak (Petit-fils)
Orgrim Marteau-du-destin (meilleur ami)

Durotan, fils de Garad, était le chef du clan Loup-de-givre, compagnon de Draka et père du futur Chef de guerre Thrall. Il était aussi un contemporain d'Orgrim Marteau-du-destin.

BiographieModifier

JeunesseModifier

Durotan était l'héritier apparent de Garad, chef du clan Loup-de-givre, dans les années précédents la Première guerre. Durant le festival de Kosh'harg en Nagrand, il rencontra un orc rochenoire nommé Orgrim, fils de Telkar Marteau-du-destin, et les deux devinrent rapidement amis malgré leur appartenance à des clans différents. Durotan fut aussi amené à la « montagne sacrée » d'Oshu'gun à la demande des ancêtres, cherchant à voir s'il pourrait devenir tout aussi bien un chaman qu'un chef du clan ; hélas, il ne put voir les ancêtres, même s'il savait qu'ils étaient quelque part autour de lui.

Alors qu'ils se dirigeaient tout deux vers la Forêt de Terokkar, Durotan et Orgrim furent attaqué par un ogre sauvage, et aurait sûrement été tué sans l'arrivée fortuite d'un groupe de chasse draeneï originaire de Telmor, mené par Restalaan. Prévenant leurs clans, Restalaan amena les deux orcs à Telmor et les informa que le chef des draeneï, le prophète Velen, était en ville et les avait invité à diner. Ils discutèrent de l'histoire de leur peuple respectif, Durotan annonçant même que lui et Orgrim en avaient plus appris au sujet des draenei récemment que tous ce que leur race en avait appris en plus d'un siècle.

Une fois de retour dans son clan, Durotan rencontra une jeune orc Loup-de-givre nommée Draka. Durotan en fut frappé, ne pensant pas qu'elle pouvait être de son clan. Même s'il fut repoussé (la première fois) lorsqu'il lui demanda de pouvoir lui faire la cour, les deux finirent ensemble.

Chef des Loup-de-givreModifier

Durotanconcept

Concept art de Durotan pour Warcraft Adventures: Lord of the Clans.

Quelques années plus tard, le père de Durotan, Garad, fut tué lors d'une bataille contre un groupe d'ogre et un gronn, et Durotan devint le chef du clan Loup-de-givre de par son héritage. Peu de temps après, Ner'zhul, le leader spirituel des orcs et chef du clan Ombrelune, appela les chefs de clan et chaman à Oshu'gun. Ner'zhul leur apprit ce que les ancêtres lui avaient révelé, selon lui — les draenei étaient les ennemis des orcs. Ceci était une partie d'un plan élaboré par le seigneur érédar Kil'jaeden, l'un des lieutenants du Titan noir Sargeras. Kil'jaeden, à la tête de la Légion Ardente, a pourchassé les draenei — des érédars renégats qui fuirent lorsque Sargeras vint — à travers les éons, mais n'avait trouvé que les ruines de là où ils résidaient.

Durotan fut envoyé par Ner'zhul pour rencontrer le prophète Velen lui-même près d'Oshu'gun, où le prophète lui révéla que ce qui guida les esprits des ancêtres présents ici était en fait un naaru agonisant nommé K'ure, qui avait aidé les draenei à s'échapper d'Argus 25.000 ans plus tôt. Ce fait fut accueilli par la suspicion et l'hostilité de la part des orcs — notamment par Drek'Thar, le chaman du clan Loup-de-givre, qui traita Velen de blasphémateur. Malgré ses ordres d'amener Velen et ses suivants auprès de Ner'zhul, Durotan décida de les relâcher, estimant qu'il n'y avait pas d'honneur à capturer un prisonnier volontaire.

Lors d'une bataille où ils furent défait par les forces de Restalaan, le chaman Loup-de-givre réalisa qu'ils avaient été coupé des esprits. Durotan et Draka prirent ceci comme un signe que quelque chose de terriblement injuste se passait, même si Ner'zhul leur avait annoncé que les ancêtres lui avaient déclaré qu'il s'agissait d'une guerre juste. Ce fut à cette époque que les orcs — sous la direction de l'ambitieux Gul'dan, l'apprenti de Ner'zhul — commencèrent à prendre le chemin de la magie démoniaque. Durotan, ne voyant pas de raison de s'opposer à la décision officielle, autorisa Drek'Thar et ses chamans à recevoir l'entraînement des démonistes.

Le Chef de guerre et le siège de TelmorModifier

Grâce aux manipulations de Gul'dan — rendu plus fort par Kil'jaeden — les clans furent unis dans une Première Horde, et de nombreux chefs de clan, y compris Durotan, concourraient pour le poste de Chef de guerre. Cependant, le favori évident (et donc celui qui reçut le titre) fut le va-t-en guerre Main-noire, chef du clan Rochenoire. Personne ne savait, évidemment, que Main-noire était en fait la marionnette de Gul'dan.

Avec les informations données par Orgrim (maintenant connu comme Marteau-du-destin, son père étant mort presque au même moment que celui de Durotan), Main-noire ordonna à Durotan de lancer un assaut sur la cité de Telmor, qui était proche des terres du clan Loup-de-givre. Alors qu'il était sous la protection de Restalaan lorsqu'il était enfant, Durotan avait vu le capitaine des gardes extirper un cristal vert d'un endroit caché dans la forêt —Leafshadow, l'un des éclats du cristal ata'mal, qui projetait une illusion dissimulant la cité à la vue des ogres, gronn et autres menaces externes. Orgrim avait annoncé à Main-noire que Durotan possédait une formidable mémoire (ce qui était le cas), et qu'il pourrait se rappeler de l'incantation pour dissiper l'illusion. Durotan accepta à contre-cœur, et ainsi la Horde saccagea Telmor et tua tout les draenei qu'ils pouvaient trouver, y compris Restalaan qui périt de la main de Durotan lui-même.

Le pacte démoniaqueModifier

Peu de temps avant l'attaque sur la capitale draenei de Shattrath, Gul'dan appela les clans à la montagne qu'il nommait le Trône de Kil'jaeden dans ce qui est maintenant la Péninsule des flammes infernales, pour partager le « cadeau de Kil'jaeden » — le sang de Mannoroth. Durotan — ayant été prévenu par Ner'zhul, maintenant un sulbalterne de son ancien disciple — refusa de se rendre à la convocation, tout comme son ami Orgrim... provoquant la suspicion de Gul'dan.

Après la chute de Shattrath et la disparition de Kil'jaeden, la Horde fut livrée à elle-même, avec aucun ennemi à affronter. Ce fut à cette époque que Gul'dan fut visité lors de ses songes par le sorcier humain Medivh, qui était possédé par le Titan noir. Medivh ordonna à Gul'dan de construire une porte, et qu'ensemble ils ouvriraient un grand portail entre Draenor et le monde de Medivh. Durotan continua de s'élever et de protester contre la direction de la Horde. Lorsque la Horde arriva en Azeroth, Gul'dan exila Durotan et tout son clan.

Exil et mortModifier

Acceptant apparemment sa condamnation, Durotan et les Loup-de-givre s'installèrent loin de la Horde, dans une vallée cachée d'Alterac, loin au nord du royaume d'Azeroth. C'est ici qu'ils traversèrent la Première guerre, sans y prendre part. Une fois là-bas, Drek'Thar avait renié la voie des démonistes et fut capable d'obtenir de nouveau les faveurs des esprits, re-découvrant le chamanisme. Son aide fut inestimable pour survivre dans les terres désolées que les Loup-de-givre considéraient maintenant comme leur foyer ; en plus de s'assurer que le campement ne serait pas inondé pendant la fonte des neiges, ils domestiquèrent également les grands loups blancs de la vallée où ils s'étaient établis. Ce fut à la fin de la Première Guerre que Draka, compagne de Durotan et sa plus fervente supportrice, donna naissance au fils et héritier de Durotan, l'orc qui sera connu sous le nom de Thrall. Réalisant qu'il y avait bien plus en jeu que l'héritage de son fils, Durotan décida d'agir contre le maléfique Gul'dan, et voyagea jusqu'au campement du seul orc qui s'était élevé avec lui : Orgrim Marteau-du-destin.

Durotan et Draka assassinés

Meutre de Durotan et Draka tel qu'il est présenté dans Warcraft Legends 2.

Marteau-du-destin avait, à ce moment, déjà assassiné Main-noire et était devenu le Chef de guerre de la Horde ; il accueillit alors Durotan et Draka dans son camp. Durotan expliqua ce qu'il savait — au sujet de Gul'dan, du Conseil des Ombres, le pacte démoniaque. Marteau-du-destin promit qu'il se dresserait avec Durotan quand celui-ci accusera Gul'dan, mais que — pour le bien de ses guerriers et de Durotan lui-même — il devait les envoyer ailleurs, à un endroit qu'il pensait être sûr. Il fut découvert ultérieurement que plusieurs guerriers de Marteau-du-destin étaient en fait des espions de Gul'dan... et qu'un d'entre eux avait accompagné Durotan et Draka à leur "refuge".

Le garde déloyal avait appelé des assassins pour tuer le chef des Loup-de-givre et sa compagne. Même s'il réussit à tuer au moins un d'entre eux, Durotan était trop blessé pour pouvoir continuer. Ses bras lacérés l'empêchant de serrer contre lui son enfant une dernière fois, et alors que la vie s'écoulait lentement hors de lui, Durotan expira en pensant qu'au moins il ne verrait pas son fils déchiqueté par les créatures sauvages.


Anomalie liée à la mortModifier

Rend Main-noire et Maim Main-noire, les fils de Main-noire, étaient supposés être les assassins de Durotan et Draka, comme prévu dans le jeu Warcraft Adventures. Cependant, le jeu fut annulé, l'histoire a alors été définie par le le roman Lord of the Clans, de Christie Golden, mettant en scène des espions anonymes de Gul'dan comme assassins.[2]Dans le Burning Crusade flash site, il est dit que les parents de Thrall furent assassinés par des humains, ce qui est contradictoire avec toutes les autres sources. Les événements tels que décrit dans Lord of the Clans sont généralement acceptés comme étant ce qu'il s'est véritablement passés, les autres sources étant pourvues de nombreuses erreurs ou ayant été retcon par la suite.

HéritageModifier

Durotan est enterré dans la Vallée d'Alterac, sous un monument connu sous le nom de Rocher de Durotan. On peut lire l'inscription suivante sur la plaque du memorial :

Ici repose Durotan, premier Chef du clan Loup-de-givre et père de notre honoré Chef de guerre, Thrall. Il était le représentant le plus valeureux de notre peuple. Trahi par ceux qui allaient nous conduire à l'esclavage, Durotan donna sa vie pour que nous puissions gagner notre liberté. Nous l'honorons ainsi que l'héritage qu'il nous a transmis par son fils.
-Drek'Thar, prophète des Loups-de-givre

Thrall survécut à la mort de Durotan, et fut trouvé par un officier humain, Aedelas Landenoire, qui l'éleva comme un esclave et un gladiateur. Il arrivera finalement à s'échapper, apprendra le chamanisme auprès de Drek'Thar et mènera la libération de son peuple, les libérant ainsi de la corruption démoniaque qui les avaient contaminée si longtemps, promettant que plus aucun orc ne portera plus jamais le fardeau de l'esclave — que ce soit par les humains ou les démons. Thrall deviendra le chef de guerre de la Horde après que Marteau-du-destin soit tombé lors d'un combat. Par la suite, après avoir mené l'exode de la Horde en Kalimdor et avoir combattu lors de la bataille du Mont Hyjal, Thrall et ses suivants s'installeront à l'est des Tarides, prenant enfin possession d'une terre pour la première fois depuis la corruption de Draenor. Il nommera le nouveau royaume Durotar, en l'honneur de son père assassiné.


RéférencesModifier

Wikis de Wikia à la une

Wiki au hasard

Wikia

WoWWiki

Durotan

Talk18
102,239pages on
this wiki
You would not believe me, Durotan, son of Garad. But I beg you... by the ancestors, I beg you to believe this: your son will live
HordeNPC 32Durotan, Son of Garad
Thralls dad
Gender Male
Race Orc
Character class Warrior
Affiliation The Horde, Frostwolf Clan
Position Chieftain of the Frostwolf Clan
Location Buried in Alterac Valley, Warlords-Logo-Small Bladespire Fortress
Status Deceased (Original timeline)
Warlords-Logo-Small Alive (Alternate timeline)
Relative(s) Garad and Geyah (Parents)
Draka (Mate/wife[1])
Thrall (Son)
Ga'nar(Brother)
Orgrim Doomhammer (Best friend)
Nightstalker & Sharptooth (Wolf companions)
Alignment Chaotic Neutral
Booknovel
This article or section contains lore taken from Warcraft novels or short stories.

Durotan, son of Garad, was the chieftain of the Frostwolf Clan, mate of Draka and father of the future Warchief Thrall. He was also a contemporary of Orgrim Doomhammer.

Biography Edit

Questionmark-medium This section's content needs citations, references, or sources.

Early life Edit

Durotan was the heir apparent to Garad, chieftain of the Frostwolf clan, in the years prior to the First War. During a Kosh'harg festival in Nagrand, he met a Blackrock orc named Orgrim, son of Telkar Doomhammer, and the two became fast friends despite belonging to different clans. Durotan was also brought to the "sacred mountain" of Oshu'gun by request of the ancestors, seeking to test whether he could become a shaman as well as chieftain of his clan; alas, he did not see the ancestors, though he knew they were there somehow.

While racing each other through Terokkar Forest, Durotan and Orgrim were attacked by a rampaging ogre, and would have been killed if not for the timely arrival of a draenei hunting party from Telmor, led by Restalaan. Sending word to their clans, Restalaan took the two orcs to Telmor, and informed them that the draenei leader, Prophet Velen, was in the town and invited the two to dinner. They discussed their people's histories, Durotan even commenting that he and Orgrim had learned more about the draenei in that period than their entire race had in over a century.

Upon returning to his clan, Durotan met a young Frostwolf orc named Draka. Durotan was smitten at first sight, not believing that she could be a member of his clan. Though rebuffed (at first) when asking her to join him on a courtship hunt, the two eventually mated.

Chieftain of the Frostwolves Edit

Durotanconcept

Concept Art for Durotan for Warcraft Adventures: Lord of the Clans.

Some time later, Durotan's father Garad was killed in battle against a group of ogres and a gronn, and Durotan became the chieftain of the Frostwolf Clan by hereditary right. It was not long after this that Ner'zhul, the spiritual leader of the orcs and chieftain of the Shadowmoon Clan, called the clan chieftains and shaman to Oshu'gun. Ner'zhul told them what he believed the ancestors revealed to him - that the draenei were enemies of the orcish people. This was part of an elaborate scheme concocted by the eredar lord Kil'jaeden, one of the lieutenants of the Dark Titan Sargeras. Kil'jaeden had led the Burning Legion in a hunt for the draenei—renegade eredar who fled when Sargeras came - over the eons, but in the past had found only remnants of where they had been.

Durotan was dispatched by Ner'zhul to meet with a party led by Velen himself near Oshu'gun, where the Prophet revealed that what guided the spirits of the ancestors there was in fact a dying naaru named K'ure, who had aided the draenei escape from Argus 25,000 years earlier. This was met by suspicion and outright hostility by the orcs—particularly Drek'Thar, the Frostwolf clan shaman, who called Velen a blasphemer. Despite orders to bring the Prophet and his party to Ner'zhul, Durotan decided to release them, reasoning that there was no honor in taking a willing prisoner.

During a battle in which they were defeated by Restalaan's forces, the Frostwolf shaman realized they had been cut off from the spirits. Durotan and Draka took this as a sign that something was seriously wrong, even though Ner'zhul had told them the ancestors had told them that this was a just war. It was at this time that the orcs - under the guidance of the ambitious Gul'dan, Ner'zhul's apprentice - began to take the path of warlock magic. Durotan, not seeking to bring attention to himself by opposing the official stance, allowed Drek'Thar and his shaman to receive the warlock training.

The Warchief and the Siege of Telmor Edit

Through Gul'dan's manipulation - empowered by Kil'jaeden - the clans were united into the First Horde, and several clan chieftains, including Durotan, ran for the position of Warchief. However, the clear favorite (and thus the one who received that title) was the battle-hungry Blackhand, chieftain of the Blackrock Clan. No one knew, of course, that Blackhand was in fact Gul'dan's puppet.

With information given to him by Orgrim (now known as Doomhammer, his father dying around the same time as Durotan's), Blackhand ordered Durotan to assault the city of Telmor, which was close to the Frostwolf clan grounds. While in Restalaan's care as a boy, Durotan had seen the guard captain pull a green crystal from a hidden place in the forest floor - Leafshadow, one of the shards of the ata'mal crystal, which projected an illusion that hid the city from ogres, gronn and other external threats. Orgrim had told Blackhand that Durotan possessed a keen ability of recall (which he did), and could remember the incantation to dispel the illusion. Durotan reluctantly did so, and thus the Horde sacked Telmor and killed everyone they could find, including Restalaan, who was defeated by Durotan himself.

The Demonic Bargain Edit

Chief Durotan

Shortly before the attack on the draenei capital of Shattrath, Gul'dan called the clans to a mountain he named the Throne of Kil'jaeden in what is now Hellfire Peninsula, to partake of Kil'jaeden's "gift" - the blood of Mannoroth. Durotan—having been warned by the now-subservient Ner'zhul - refused to partake, as did his friend Orgrim...causing both to fall under the suspicion of Gul'dan.

Gul'dan sought to eliminate Durotan, and freed one of Blackhand's draenei slaves, blaming it on Durotan. Blackhand was enraged and he dueled Durotan, who had actually sheltered the draenei after finding her in the wilderness. The plan did not work however, and Durotan was not defeated and killed, for the draenei, Tanara, had left in the midst of the battle, and the two orcs had stopped fighting after they discovered this.

After the fall of Shattrath and the disappearance of Kil'jaeden, the Horde turned on itself, with no enemies left to fight. It was at this time that Gul'dan was visited in his dreams by the human sorcerer Medivh, who was possessed by the Dark Titan. Medivh commanded Gul'dan to construct a gateway, and that together they would open a great Portal between Draenor and the world of Medivh. Durotan continued to voice opposition against the Horde leadership. When the Horde crossed over into Azeroth, Gul'dan exiled Durotan and his entire clan.

Exile and Death Edit

Apparently accepting their fate, Durotan and the Frostwolf Clan settled deep in a hidden valley in the Alterac Mountains, far to the north of the Kingdom of Azeroth. There they lived throughout the First War. While there, Drek'Thar had forsaken the path of the warlock and was able to regain the favor of the spirits, and return to shamanism. His aid would be invaluable in surviving in the harsh lands which the Frostwolves now called home; in addition to ensuring that the encampment was not flooded in the spring thaw, they also befriended the white wolves that made the valley their home. It was at the end of the First War that Draka, Durotan's mate and most stalwart supporter, gave birth to Durotan's son and heir, the orc who would become known as Thrall. Realizing that there was far more at stake now that his legacy would live on, Durotan decided to take action against the evil Gul'dan, and travelled to the encampment of the only other orc who had stood by him: Orgrim Doomhammer.

Durotan and Draka murdered

Durotan and Draka's murder as depicted in Warcraft Legends 2

Doomhammer had, by this time, assassinated Blackhand and become the Warchief of the Horde, and welcomed Durotan and Draka into his encampment. Durotan explained what he knew - about Gul'dan, the Shadow Council, the demonic bargain. Doomhammer vowed that he would stand at Durotan's side as they confronted Gul'dan with his crimes, but - for the good of his warriors and Durotan as well - he had to send them away to what he thought was a safe place. It was found out later that several of Doomhammer's warriors had been Gul'dan's spies...and one of them had accompanied Durotan and Draka to their "safe haven".

The treacherous guard had summoned assassins to kill the Frostwolf chieftain and his mate. Though he managed to kill at least one of them, Durotan was too severely wounded to continue. His arms sliced off to prevent him from holding his child again, Durotan died slowly as the lifeblood drained out of him, the last thought in his mind being a sense of relief that he would not see his son torn apart by the creatures of the forest.

Quotes Edit

  • “Gul’dan, what have you done to us!”

In World of Warcraft Edit

In Warlords of Draenor Edit

Warlords-Logo-Small This section concerns content exclusive to Warlords of Draenor.
Icon-edit-22x22
Note: This is a generic section stub. You can help expand it by clicking  Edit to the right of the section title.

Durotan makes an appearance in Warlords of Draenor, ruling over Frostfire Ridge as the Chieftain of the Frostwolf clan. He is an ally of the Horde in their fight against the Iron Horde.

Warcraft: The Movie Edit

WoW Icon 16x16Icon-video-22x22 This section concerns content exclusive to The World of Warcraft Movie.

At BlizzCon 2013 it was revealed that Durotan would be one of 2 main characters. The story would follow both him and Anduin Lothar, the commander of the Stormwind army. More details on the actual story-line of the film are still yet to be revealed, but we can assume that it will have to do with Durotan attempting to stop his people from becoming corrupted by the blood of Mannaroth, and then how he and his Frostwolf clan became exiled.

During Blizzcon 2014 it was revealed that Toby Kebbell will be portraying Durotan in the 2016 blockbuster movie.

Death discrepancy Edit

Durotan2

Rend and Maim, the sons of Blackhand, were intended to be Durotan and Draka's assassins, as played out in the game Warcraft Adventures.[2] However, the game was cancelled, the story being told instead by the novel Lord of the Clans by Christie Golden, depicting unnamed spies of Gul'dan as the assassins.[3] In Burning Crusade flash site,[4] it is told that Thrall's parents were assassinated by humans,[5] which contradicts all sources. The events depicted in Lord of the Clans are generally accepted as what actually happened, the other sources being shot down as either mistakes or outright retcons.

Legacy Edit

Rock-of-durotan

Durotan is buried in Alterac Valley, under a monument known as the Rock of Durotan. The inscription on the memorial plaque reads:

Here lies Durotan - first Chieftain of the Frostwolf Clan, and father of our honored Warchief, Thrall. He was the bravest of our kind - betrayed by those who would see our people enslaved. Durotan gave his life that our freedom might be gained. We honor him—and the legacy he passed onto us through his son.
-Drek'Thar, Far Seer of the Frostwolves

Thrall survived after Durotan's death, found by the human officer Aedelas Blackmoore and raised as a slave and gladiator. He would eventually escape, be trained as a shaman by Drek'Thar, and lead in the liberation of his people, thus freeing them from the taint of demonic corruption that had plagued them for so long, vowing at the same time that no orc would be cast into slavery - by humans or demons alike - ever again. Thrall would go on to become Warchief of the Horde after Doomhammer fell in battle. Then, after leading the exodus to Kalimdor and fighting in the Battle of Mount Hyjal, Thrall and his people settled in the eastern Barrens, at last taking a land of their own for the first time since the corruption of Draenor. He named the new kingdom Durotar, in honor of his slain father.

Media Edit

Images Edit

Videos Edit

References Edit

See also Edit

External links Edit

Lore


Preceded by:
Garad
Position:
Chieftain of the Frostwolf Clan
Succeeded by:
Drek'Thar

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki